Agreement For The Establishment Of The Indian Ocean Tuna Commission

A multilateral treaty, the agreement establishing the Indian Ocean Tuna Commission, was approved in November 1993 by the Council of the United Nations Food and Agriculture Organization. The agreement entered into force on 27 March 1996, after being adopted by a tenth party. The agreement is open to any state with coastlines within the Indian Ocean region (or the surrounding seas), as well as to any state that fishes for tuna in the Indian Ocean region. The agreement is also open to regional economic organizations. The Indian Ocean Tuna Commission (CTOI) is an intergovernmental organization that coordinates the regulation and management of tuna in the Indian Ocean. Designed in 1993, it was created in 1996. The Indian Ocean Tuna Commission (CTOI) is an intergovernmental organization responsible for the management of tuna and tuna species in the Indian Ocean and adjacent seas. The Commission`s aim is to promote the conservation and optimal use of tuna stocks under the CTOI Convention and to promote sustainable fisheries development. CTOI is headquartered in Victoria, Seychelles. . Member: Australia, Bangladesh, Belize, China, Comoros, Eritrea, European Union, France, Guinea, India, Indonesia, Iran (Rep. of Islam), Japan, Kenya, Republic of Korea, Madagascar, Malaysia, Maldives, Mauritius, Mozambique, Oman, Pakistan, Philippines, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Sudan, United Kingdom of Tanzania, Thailand, United Kingdom, Yemen. Vanuatu was a member of the CTOI from 2012 to 2015.

She decided to withdraw from the organization. Reference: ISBN 978-1-5286-1019-3, CP 42 PDF, 520KB, 20 pages . . The Commission`s work is assisted by a scientific committee, a compliance committee and a standing committee of administration and finance, as well as numerous working groups. The contract was submitted to Parliament in February 2019. The agreement to establish the Indian Ocean Tuna Commission was concluded in accordance with Article XIV of the FAO Constitution. It was approved by the FAO Council in November 1993 and came into force with the accession of the tenth member in March 1996. . Published title: Agreement on the creation of the Indian Ocean Tuna Commission Non-party to cooperation: Liberia, Senegal. The governing body of the CTOI is the Commission. It is made up of all members and is empowered to take conservation and management measures.

Conservation and management measures, which are binding on the members of the Commission, must be adopted by a two-thirds majority of the members present and voting. Each member of the Commission has one vote. Individual members who refuse to do so are not related. Non-binding recommendations on stock conservation and management to promote the objectives of the agreement should only be adopted by a simple majority of present and voting members. Commission meetings are usually held annually. The CTOI succeeded the tuna development and management program in 1982. ..

Publicado en: Sin categoría